More than just Jesus-Is-My-Boyfriend Songs

It’s sad to see how people have some disregard for such powerful and intimate songs that assists us in viewing Him from a different angle. I lately had sometime to read through a couple of Christian blogs like this one and one of his posts got my attention big time. His post led me to this one 

In a gist, what is being portrayed here is songs that have “Jesus I Love You” or “You’re all I want”, lyrics are being labeled as jesus-is-my-boyfriend songs. I guess what really appalled me the most is how people look at things, I mean to bring songs which are meant for Jesus, our lord and savior, songs which are meant to bring about an intimate relationship down to a humanly-context and compare it to their own human relationships. Isn’t God far more worthy than that?

Here I some points I would like to share with regards to this topic:

  1. You can’t compare the love you have for Jesus the same way you would compare the love you have for your girlfriend/boyfriend. That’s two different love all together. God gave us feelings for specific purposes in life. The love that you have for Jesus is totally different. It’s not some warm-fuzzy feeling, or a feeling which makes your knees weak. Nor does it make your heart beat faster. It’s not a crush! Yet, the relationship you have with Jesus is an intimate one. The love you have with Jesus is one that is filled with thankfulness, gladness, dependence, acceptance. It’s the kind of love a baby boy would feel for his mother. He is not romantically in love with her, but yet he still loves and clings on to her. It’s a very personal and heart-felt one. 

And that’s what these songs are about. They aren’t mean’t in anyway to make Jesus feel like some boyfriend, rather these songs are meant to help us build that intimate relationship with Him. These songs are meant to show and remind us of the many facades of Jesus that He is not only a glorified king and a redeemer, but as a one who is always there for us, and loves us no matter how messed up we are.

Jesus doesn’t think like how mortal man would think. A mortal man would say “why are you wasting such expensive perfume on him?”, whereas Jesus would look at your heart’s desire.

  1. The second point I wanna make is that I’m 100% sure that God doesn’t care about corny cheesy lyrics. I guess we’re just soo used to seeing the outward appearance of things – the quality of the band, the voice of the lead worshipper, the “flow” of the worship till we forget what the true meaning of worship is. I mean when you go to a Praise and Worship session, are you there to judge and roll your eyes whenever any “corny” song is being played by the music ministry or are you focused at worshipping your God?  It’s the heart that matters, not the type of song. Remember the lines of the beautiful song “Heart of worship?”

I’ll bring you more than a song,For a song in itself, is not what you have required,You search much deeper within,To the way things appear,You’re looking into my heart 

Singing “Jesus, I will never let you go” may sound cheesy and boy-bandish to some people, but to God, it’s pleasing in his sight, because He knows you mean it.

  1. Finally a 3rd point I would like to make and this one comes from my own personal experience. Having being actively involved in corporate worship for sometime now as a member first and now as a worship leader, I value these songs. I have seen tears come out of people’s eyes whenever they sing such songs.  One of the reasons I believe this happens is because these songs have touched their hearts, not the same way like how boyband songs do. Boyband songs just create some sort of “rush, mushy” feeling, but I don’t find people having that sorta feeling with God. Instead their tears are a sign of repentance and longing for their beloved God.  With the help of the holy spirit, these songs help people focus and cry out to Him.

So go ahead, sing a love song to God, tell Him how much you adore Him, and how much you need Him. Tell Him how much you love Him and how amazing He is. The Lord delights in genuine, heartfelt praises.  J

8 responses to “More than just Jesus-Is-My-Boyfriend Songs

  1. Heyy, welcome back! How’ve u been? Btw, font very small for this post.

    Anyway, I agree with you. I read the blogs you linked, and I thoroughly agree with what they say, especially when one of the bloggers advise Christian musicians to write from scripture. I’m also abit fedup of some songs, although I hadn’t been able to put my finger on it.

  2. D4G,

    Thanks for posting this comment. I think the key here is in singing songs together that actually make sense. To a new Christian, or non-Christian, I remain convinced that we’re sending the wrong message if we sing about God in a way that is just not real. That is not to discount the intimacy we can have with a loving God, or our desperation for Him, but if it means we do less songs that sing like this then I’ll be doing it.

    Personally, a lot of the songs that I will choose not to do on Sundays still have a place in my own personal reflection and listening. Everything we do when we meet needs to make sense, we need to be able to explain it in simple (non Christian-ese) type terms, and our portrayal of our relationship with God needs also to reflect the truth. David said “as the Deer pants for the water, so my soul longs for you”, but he didn’t say “I’d lay it all down again to feel the warmth of your embrace” – see the difference?

    Welcome back to the blogosphere, looking forward to some more dialogue on this one.

  3. Hi D4G, Like the new layout…

    Funny thing you should post this, I JUST finished blogging this post:

    http://authentic-light.blogspot.com/2006/10/have-you-ever.html

    In Christ,
    ABC

  4. Pingback: Redefining Worship « Changing Seasons

  5. Hey!

    You remind me so much of a mate of mine – he has views on worship songs, so nice to hear your thoughts.

    God bless
    Maria
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  6. Hey,

    I do hear what you’re saying. Following Christ is all about relationship with Him. On the other hand, he reminds us to worship God with all our hearts, souls and *minds.* I have a lot of problems with this “Jesus-is-my-boyfriend” music, because I find the music incredibly boring, but even more importantly, because it often boils down to pure emotion without any substance. I don’t recall if you put it this explicitly, but worship isn’t purely theological – there is an emotional element to it, but we really shouldn’t make it one sided in either direction.

    What we say (or sing) and what we do does, in fact, affect what we believe, and vice versa. I wish more thought went into the writing of these songs, not to mention into the use of them in a liturgical setting.

    Just one more thing, while it’s on my brain, I don’t believe that most folks opposed to the use of these J-i-m-b songs misunderstand the difference between loving God and loving a mate. At least in my own case, apart from the “musically boring” objection I mentioned before, the gushiness of the lyrics remind me of a high school girl’s (sincere-but-) bad poetry. That’s where the term comes from. Just thought I’d clarify.

    Blessings!

    Rob

  7. Want to start your private office arms race right now?

    I just got my own USB rocket launcher 🙂 Awsome thing.

    Plug into your computer and you got a remote controlled office missile launcher with 360 degrees horizontal and 45 degree vertival rotation with a range of more than 6 meters – which gives you a coverage of 113 square meters round your workplace.
    You can get the gadget here: http://tinyurl.com/2qul3c

    Check out the video they have on the page.

    Cheers

    Marko Fando

  8. Just a thought…

    When the Cherbim and Seraphim surrounding the throne of God sang “Hosanna in the highest” in Isaiah’s vision, which part of that was musically or lyrically boring? Worship is from the heart and soul and mind of the believer and I bet when we have nothing else to do but praise and worship Him for all eternity with billions of other believers, we’ll surely hear praise music beyond anything we ever imagined. On who’s authority does any man decide what is and isn’t worship? Let God sort that out. If you are a Worship leader then your responsibility is for your ministry and that it remains true to the Word. Don’t judge another ministry.

Leave a Reply

